Today the students continued to practice their inferencing skill. Students pretended that they were anthropolgists and made inferences about the native Alaskan people based on one of their ancient stories. Most classes did not finish this so we will continue this assignment on Thursday (Wednesday is library day!).

Students in 2nd hour, 5th hour & 7th hour have homework that is due on Thursday, August 30. I have assigned them an article to read and questions to answer. Sometimes I will give them an article and questions to read to help build their prior knowledge as homework. I want my students to become more literate and in order to do that I feel that they need to broaden their reading experiences into real-world text. Many of the articles that I will send home have been in the New York Times, The Week, The Washington Post, etc.

Can the Cinnamon Challenge Kill You  <– Homework for 2nd, 5th & 7th due 8/30!

~Mrs. Finley

