Happy Thursday! The students are excited about their 3-day weekend!

We continued to practice mood and tone in reading passages today. We discussed the poem “Sick” by Shel Silverstein and then looked at a short story. We discussed the mood and tone but also compared and contrasted the two.

2nd hour was ahead so I gave them a catch-up day today to finish up missing assignments.

I have 4 grades entered for the 4th quarter since we have had quite a few homework assignments the past few days. If the student does not have Edmodo I have been giving them a paper copy of the assignment. If your student received a 0 in the gradebook I made a note that they either have not turned in this assignment or that that was their actual grade on the assignment. I have also urged the students to get these turned in as soon as possible so that I can adjust their grade.

Compacting students do NOT have to do these homework assignments unless they want to. I have left it completely optional for them until they turn in their projects on Friday, March 22. After that date they will begin to have homework once again as they rejoin the class. If they did not do a homework assignment I have “exempted” them from the assignment so you should not see a grade.

If you have a facebook account consider “liking” the Edythe J. Hayes Library. This is a great way to learn about upcoming events at our school, e-books, etc.

There is no homework this weekend.

Have a great weekend!

~Mrs. Finley

