Today was our book fair day! The students had a great time browsing the book fair and seeing all of the neat items for sale. The fair ends on Friday so if a student wants to buy something they can do so until then. You can also purchase books from the link that I posted in my previous post about the book fair.

First hour today the students spent time with their WEB leaders (8th grade mentor students). The students that were in my classroom with their leaders were playing some games and just really having a good time relaxing and being able to ask questions to their leaders.

The rest of the day we spent finishing reading the story “Stray” by Cynthia Rylant or at the book fair. A few classes also started a quiz. The quiz is really more of a test, however I told the students that I will be counting it as a quiz/homework/classwork grade and not as a test grade. It is more of a review of many things we have talked about this year. This will really be a chance for them to see how they are doing and will let me spend some more time reviewing that information with them over the next few weeks before testing.

I also have created a goal setting sheet for the MAP Test that each student will take home next week. I am going to offer extra credit if they show it to you and get a parent signature on it. This will come home Monday or Tuesday depending on when the students finish their reading test. I think that it is important that they share this information with you at home. The MAP test is one really important tool that teachers can use to get an idea of what students know and what they do not know. The test spans from K-12th grade. I will give the students their goal setting sheet later this week and we will discuss their fall MAP score and winter MAP score. We will then set a realistic goal for our spring MAP score and discuss some strategies we can use to help us do our best on the test. I have included the grade level equivalent so that the students might have a better idea as to what reading grade level they tested as when they took the test.

1st hour homework tonight is to take the verb quiz on Edmodo.
2nd, 5th & 7th: NO homework.

~Mrs. Finley

