Dear Students and Parents/Guardians,

Please allow me to take a moment to welcome you to Edythe J. Hayes Middle School for an exciting and eventful seventh grade year. My name is Amy Finley and I will be your child’s Language Arts teacher. (Many of you may remember me from last year as I taught Language Arts on the 6th grade Lynx team). I received my undergraduate degree in Secondary Education with a major in English from the University of Kentucky and my Master’s Degree in Education from Georgetown College. I completed my second Master’s Degree last year which gave me my Gifted & Talented Endorsement. This will be my fifth year teaching, and the excitement and anticipation I feel with beginning a new school year never seems to lessen. It is even more special for me this year as I will be seeing many familiar faces that were with me as 6th grade students last year.

In order to encourage classroom communication between parents, students, and myself, I have created this class blog which contains a great deal of information relating to my Language Arts classes. I will make every attempt to keep this site updated with assignments and other important information relating to our class.

I welcome and encourage open communication amongst the parent, student and teacher. Please don’t hesitate to call me 381-4920 should you have any questions or concerns relating to your child or my class. You can also e-mail me at Amy.Finley@fayette.kyschools.us if this is more convenient.

Again, I want to welcome you to EJHMS, the Lions Team, and to my class. I am looking forward to working with your child and you throughout the upcoming school year.

 

Sincerely,

Amy Finley
7th Grade Language Arts Teacher
Lions Team
Edythe J. Hayes Middle School

Many parents like to donate supplies throughout the year. These items can be delivered directly to my classroom. A donation is not necessary or required, but if you are inclined, the attached list contains items that will be used frequently in Language Arts class this school year and would be greatly appreciated.
Supply List

