Happy Friday! We are off to a fantastic start to the new school year! I have really enjoyed getting to know the students the past few days.

Today in class we went over the Interactive Student Notebook (ISN) and explained the purpose for it in our classroom. I also talked to 3rd, 5th & 7th hour about their Summer Reading Project.

I have attached the paper I shared with the student’s. It also includes the rubric that I will use to grade their essay. Students received both of these in class today. Projects are due on Tuesday, September 3.

We also had our very first assembly today at the end of 5th hour. This was to welcome all of the students and to go over CHAMPS as a school. Our principals: Mrs. Nalley, Mr. Sherrard and Mr. Hoskins all led our assembly. The students go to have some fun and cheer for their teams too.

Monday we are going to the library for the first time as a class. Mrs. Butler will go over the library rules and procedures and then we can begin check-out! I have already told the students that my classroom expectation is that they have an independent reading book with them at all times. This is so that they always have something to read in the event that they finish their work early. Therefore, it is my expectation that they either check-out a book from the school library, from my classroom library or they can even get a book from the public library or bring one from home. The important thing is that they have a book to read when they finish any work early and that they are always reading for enjoyment.

Please do not hesitate to contact the team if you have any questions or concerns.

Have a great weekend!

~Mrs. Finley

