Happy Friday!

We are officially ready to begin our Greek Mythology unit! I am so excited to share all of the interesting mythology with the students and let them explore this deeper in their own mythology book.

Instead of beginning today I elected to wait and begin this unit on Monday. As I mentioned in my last post, I gave the students a list of books to choose from for this unit. I relied heavily on their MAP scores from all of 6th grade and pulled books on a variety of lexile levels. I then created a choice board for each student based on these scores which gives me a lexile range. Lexile levels are not a perfect match for each student so I like to go a little below and a little above as well. This still keeps books challenging enough and ensures that they are not too easy or too hard. By using all three MAP scores to get an idea of where your student is at I am able to get a better picture of how they read as opposed to relying on only one test.

Unfortunately, there are not enough books about greek mythology at higher lexile levels that are still appropriate for middle school students. Because of the success of books, such as Percy Jackson, many of these greek mythology books are new and so the other libraries in our school district are not able to loan me these books because they are also in high demand.

The problem that I am running into is that some of the students in my advanced classes are all wanting to read the same book. The ones that I have found for them a few stood out that really appealed to my male students or to my female students.  I was able to get at least two copies of every book, however I had 10 students want to read a book. I discussed this with the students again today and let them know that I hated to look at their second and third choices, however I was a bit limited to some books that were in high demand, such as The Alchemyst. Many of these students shared that they would be more than willing to purchase their own copy and bring it to class. This is completely fine with me, and it would guarantee that they could read that book for their greek mythology book. With that being said, I just wanted to clarify that I do not expect them to purchase a book for class, however I can’t guarantee that they get their first choice in this kind of case. I am really pleased with their enthusiasm, however if they want to purchase the book I think this is a conversation that needs to take place at home.

A few students asked about purchasing it for their e-reader and bringing it to class. I am completely okay with them doing this however, I can’t take responsibility if something happens to their e-reader while at school.

Homework:

2nd hour: Summer reading essay is due Friday, September 13. Parent signature on book expectations due on Monday. Note: I was short six copies in this class so I will give it to those six students on Monday and it will be due on Tuesday. Read on your realistic fiction book to prepare for your book talk on Monday, September 27.

3rd, 5th & 7th hours:  Continue to read your realistic fiction book for your book talk on Friday, September 27! I recommend 20 minutes at minimum daily.

~Mrs. Finley

