Oops! Sorry for not posting sooner! I guess I am out of habit from the past few snow days.

Today I shared some books with the kids that they could use for their January book talk. Many of the students that I have had in my exploratory class are interested in reading The Freedom Writers Diary. It is a great book that I use some excerpts from with the exploratory class, however it is very PG-13 for language/violence, etc. 

A few great biographies/autobiographies/memoirs I shared today included:

  • Marley & Me
  • Tuesdays with Morrie
  • A Child Called It
  • Three Little Words
  • The Story of My Life: Helen Keller
  • Dewey the Library Cat: A True Story
  • We Beat the Street

I actually struggled with coming up with a list for this months book trailer shares. I try to do this every month to help give the kids of some books to read, however I think that with a biography, autobiography or memoir my goal is to really let them learn about someone’s life in-depth. To do this I also hope it is someone that they are interested in learning more about. That might be an athlete, musician, artist, etc.

The book talk presentations will begin on Thursday, January 30.

Note: Originally I had told 3rd hour we are MAP reading testing tomorrow. Due to the snow days I do not believe that that is still accurate. As of right now, I do not think we are MAP testing until next week. I am waiting confirmation of this and will then let you know. 🙂 Hopefully none of them are stressed out about it.

 

Homework:

Read for at least 20 minutes to prepare for your January book talk.

 

~Mrs. Finley

